COEA logoMission: The Council on Elder Affairs is established to serve as an advocate for the elderly in the City, to the governmental agencies responsible for the various plans and programs designed to help the elderly.  To assist in the implementation of plans and programs selected by regional organizations, as they relate to the City and its elderly.  To designate priorities among programs developed in the City by public, nonprofit and private providers concerning the elderly.

Members: The Council on Elder Affairs is a countywide body representative of all of the elderly people of Duval County. This Council consists of 19 members, five appointed by the mayor and one appointed by each of the 14 district City Council members. Members must be at least 55 years old and cannot be employed by any government entity or a provider of services to the elderly.

Meeting Schedule: The Council On Elder Affairs meets monthly on the fourth Wednesday at 10 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. at City Hall, 117 W. Duval St. 32202, 1st Floor, Lynwood Roberts Conference Room. Requests for Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) should be made to the Disabled Services Division two to three business-days prior to the meeting at (904) 255-5466 or email The public is encouraged to attend. Please contact the office prior to the day of the meeting to confirm time and location as changes can occur from time to time.

The following dates are the Council on Elder Affairs scheduled meetings for the 2019 and 2020 year:
           Meeting ID: 924 7241 2909
           Password: 071300
  • July 22, 2020
  • August 26, 2020
  • September 23, 2020
  • October 28, 2020
  • November - TBD
  • December - TBD

Council Members:

Name Category
Patricia Vail   CC-District 1, Council Member Joyce Morgan
John F. Roberts CC-District 2, Council Member Al Ferraro
Vacancy CC-District 3, Council Member Aaron Bowman
Vanessa Swindell CC-District 4, Council President Scott Wilson
Vacancy CC-District 5, Council Member LeAnna Cumber
Nick Palmieri CC-District 6, Council Member Michael Boylan
Vacancy CC-District 7, Council Member Reggie Gaffney
Antonia Bryant CC-District 8, Council Member Ju'Coby Pittman
Jacquelyn Nash CC-District 9, Council Member Garrett Dennis
Rosemary Thornton - Chair CC-District 10, Council Member Brenda Priestly Jackson
Gezil Andrews - Vice Chair CC-District 11, Council Member Danny Becton
Vacancy CC-District 12, Council Member Randy White
Marcelle Bessman CC-District 13, Council Member Rory Diamond
Susan McCullough CC-District 14 Council Member Randy DeFoor
Eldrige Groomes Group 01, Council Member Terrance Freeman
Andew Westhoff Group 02, Council Member Ronald Salem
Joe Meux Group 03, Council Vice-President Tommy Hazouri
Mildred Brown Group 04, Matt Carlucci
Murphy Nmezi Group 05, Samuel Newby

Contact Staff:

Name Position Phone Email
Carrence Bass Executive Director (904) 255-5413


Sign Up to Receive Email Updates:

[Error loading the FormControl 'NewReCaptcha']
Could not load file or assembly 'NewReCaptcha' or one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.