City Council Committees, Boards, and Commissions

The Standing Committees of the Jacksonville City Council meet the first and third week of each month in the Council Chamber, 1st Floor, City Hall at St. James, 117 W. Duval St.  The Special Committees, Boards and Commissions meet as noticed.

Committee Roster - Revised 7/1/2020

Standing Committees

Finance Committee
Land Use & Zoning Committee 
Neighborhoods, Community Services, Public Health & Safety Committee
Rules Committee
Transportation, Energy & Utilities Committee

Special Committees

Jacksonville Small & Emerging Business (JSEB) Special Committee 
JEA Matters Special Investigatory Committee 
Opioid Epidemic, Vaping & Mental Health Resources Special Committee
Personnel Committee
Resiliency Special Committee 
Social Justice & Community Investment Special Committee 

Council Boards & Commissions

Charter Revision Commission
Duval County Election Advisory Panel
Jacksonville Waterways Commission 
Safety & Crime Reduction Commission
TRUE Commission
Value Adjustment Board

Ordinance 2018-536-E established the Duval County Tourist Development Council as an independent office. For meeting information and records regarding this board please visit the TDC homepage at: Duval County Tourist Development Council

For a complete list of the Advisory Boards of the City of Jacksonville click City Boards.
To apply for a City Council appointment, click City Council Appointments.

Past Special & Ad Hoc Committees

For information on special committees that have reached their sunset date please contact Legislative Services at (904) 255-5122.

Special Assignments

Chaplain - Randy DeFoor
Floor Leader - Scott Wilson

Ex-Officio Members/Liaisons

The Council President has selected the following Council Members to serve as liaisons between the City Council and various governmental entities in order to maintain effective communication and provide the best possible service to the public.

  • Cultural Council - Michael Boylan 
  • Cultural Service Grant Program Committee - TBD  
  • Downtown Development Review Board - Scott Wilson 
  • Downtown Investment Authority - Leanna Cumber, Reggie Gaffney (Alternate)
  • Downtown Vision, Inc. - Joyce Morgan 
  • Duval County Tourist Development Council - Tommy Hazouri (Chair), Sam Newby & Scott Wilson
  • Election Canvassing Board - Michael Boylan, Joyce Morgan (Alternate)
  • Florida Association of Counties - Joyce Morgan & Garrett Dennis 
  • Florida League of Cities - Sam Newby & Terrance Freeman
  • Group Health Benefits Special Committee - Tommy Hazouri 
  • Inspector General Selection & Retention Committee - Sam Newby
  • Jacksonville Aviation Authority - Randy White
  • Jacksonville Fire Museum Advisory Board - Randy White
  • Jacksonville Housing & Community Development Commission - Ju'Coby Pittman 
  • Jacksonville Housing Authority - Garrett Dennis
  • Jacksonville Housing Finance Authority - Garrett Dennis
  • Jacksonville Port Authority - Ron Salem
  • Jacksonville Transportation Authority - Ju'Coby Pittman 
  • JEA - Randy DeFoor
  • Joint Planning Committee - Brenda Priestly Jackson 
  • Juvenile Justice Advisory Board - Michael Boylan
  • Keep Jacksonville Beautiful - Joyce Morgan
  • Kids Hope Alliance - LeAnna Cumber
  • Library Board - Danny Becton & Joyce Morgan 
  • Mayor's Advisory Council on Television, Motion Picture & Commercial Production - Tommy Hazouri 
  • Mayor's Council on Fitness & Well-Being - Terrance Freeman 
  • Military/Veterans Affairs - Aaron Bowman, Al Ferraro (Alternate)
  • N/E Florida Regional Council - Randy DeFoor & Terrance Freeman 
  • Office of Economic Development - Garrett Dennis 
  • Opioid Abuse Prevention Committee - TBD
  • Police & Fire Pension Board of Trustees - Scott Wilson 
  • Public Service Grant Council - Matt Carlucci 
  • Safety & Crime Reduction Commission - TBD 
  • School Board - Brenda Priestly Jackson
  • Security and Emergency Preparedness Planning Council - Randy White 
  • Sister Cities - Rory Diamond 
  • Sheriff's Office - LeAnna Cumber 
  • Transportation Planning Org. - Sam Newby, Randy DeFoor, Randy White & Scott Wilson (Alternate)
  • Tree Commission - Ron Salem
  • Zoological Society - Ju'Coby Pittman & LeAnna Cumber (Alternate)